These Are A Few Of My Favorite… Albums ♫

26 Jul

Not in any particular order…


Radiohead OK Computer: My favorite album of all time, hands down. Beautiful, otherworldly, absolutely perfect.


Interpol Antics: Incredible post punk sound, a la 2004. Great lyrics, sexy vocals. Nothing is lacking.


Interpol Untitled: This album, their first, made me fall in love with them. I’d never heard this sound before, like mist. It was really exiting.


Belle and Sebastian If You’re Feeling Sinister… So pretty! The sweetest little album you’ll ever own, but not too twee. An album full of happiness and a bit o’ sarcasm.


Alanis Morrissette Jagged Little Pill I am woman, here me roar. The songs on this album are really powerful and so is her voice. This is what feminism was to me at age 10.


The Strokes Is This It? You know that feeling you get when you’re about to go down a big hill on a roller coaster? Yeah. If Lou Reed sang lead for The Beetles, this’d be it.


Blink 182 Enema Of The State One of the first albums I ever purchased. I was ten and loved fart jokes, but I also had good taste in music. That’s what this album is. A quality fart joke.



Erykah Badu Baduizm What can I say? Pure neo-soul heaven. Beautiful and clever lyrics. My mom bought us the tape when I was like 9. We wore that thing out.


Amel Larrieux Infinite Possibilities Beautifully arranged songs with a voice as sweet as honey singing them. I don’t find many sopranos singing neo-soul, and it works well.



Jewel Pieces Of You I got this album for Christmas when I was 11. Folk by a young, sensitive Alaskan. You can’t go wrong! It’s good, trust me 😉



No Doubt Tragic Kingdom My mother and I yelling the words to “Spiderwebs” while she drove me to school in the morning is a vivid and cherished memory of mine. This album is so fun! Ska punk at its best.



Lauryn Hill The Miseducation Of Lauryn Hill This is one of those albums that you can let play all the way through without skipping. Her genius is undeniable. Heartfelt. This is real poetry.


Weezer Weezer (The Blue Album) I was absolutely obsessed with this album. Every song is gold. GOLD, I TELL YOU!!  Rivers whines for most of the album, but he is a skilled whiner. It’s as if emo and power pop had a baby. A glorious, angst ridden baby.


The Mars Volta De-Loused In The Comatorium Omar Rodriguez Lopez’s guitar playing alone makes this album one of my favorites. The production is very heavy handed, but as a psychedelic wall of noise with incomprehensible lyrics, it works. The arrangements are really good.


Danny Elfman Nightmare Before Christmas This soundtrack can never be overrated. Danny Elfman’s voice is like silk and the songs are absolutely fantastic!! A perfect musical.


Donnie McClurkin Live In London And More This man is blessed and his songs reflect that. Smooth, powerful voice singing the best praise songs I’ve heard compiled on one album.


Portishead Dummy Ethereal, sexy, and a bit sinister. Beth Gibbons’ haunting voice and the “Bond film” influenced trip-hop beats make you feel like your in a crime underworld!


Kirk Franklin The Nu Nation Project Don’t act funny, you know you used to jam to some Kirk Franklin. As cheesy as his interjections may be (Come on, yall! Uh huh, what what!), the man is musically gifted, and this album was a huge breakthrough in gospel. Songs of praise and guidance that you could do the bounce to!

Smashing Pumpkins Siamese Dream This album has made me cry. It’s apparent that Billy Corgan has an almost spiritual connection to his music. [Tear inducing song: “Luna”]


Smashing Pumpkins Gish This is their debut album; a really good rough cut of what was to come. For an album by a band that hadn’t fully developed their sound yet, it’s pretty amazing.


Sade The Best Of Sade Sade is such a talented and uncompromising artist. She’s also a tortured soul who’s endured a life of love and loss. Her songs are soothing but sometimes so heart wrenching that they’re almost unbearable. Don’t drink while listening…


Sarah McLachlanSurfacing There are few albums that make me feel at home, and this is one of them. Mommy would put this on when it was “calm down” time. Makes me miss her ♥ The songs are so gracefully written and the production so light that it can put you in a coma-like sleep.

Leave a comment